Write the Perfect Cover Letter

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 1.17.42 PMWhether for a job or internship, a cover letter introduces you to a potential employer and offer a first impression. Your letter MUST make a connection and be concise, grammatically perfect, well written and professional in tone. This letter tells your prospective employer what YOU can do for THEM, not what they can do for you. So don’t bother writing about how much you’d like to work for the company because it will help you in the future. What do they care?

Show YOUR value. Explain why they should bring you on. Here’s a sample:

Dear, ______________________________________________

I am writing to apply for an internship in AREA OF INTEREST with NAME OF COMPANY. I’m a senior at The City College of New York, where I am majoring in XX.

As my resume indicates, I have completed major coursework including INTRODUCTION TO JOURNALISM, SOCIAL MEDIA STRATEGIES, AND PROSE WRITING WORKSHOP, among others. These hands-on classes provide me with a strong understanding of the demands of the profession, and the knowledge and skills to make a valuable contribution as an intern.

I have prior work experience having been a JOB TITLE for COMPANY. In this capacity, I brought my strong work ethic and professionalism to my employer. OR SAY SOMETHING THAT DEMONSTRATES YOUR PROFESSIONALISM.

In addition to my abilities and passion for this profession, I am hard working, ADD MORE PERSONAL QUALITIES HERE THAT DEFINE YOU.

I am especially interested in this internship because of NAME OF COMPANY’S excellent reputation for SAY SOMETHING ABOUT THE COMPANY THAT BRANDS THEM, BASED ON THEIR WEBSITE COPY OR WHAT YOU LIKE ABOUT THEM

I would welcome the opportunity to meet with you. Please contact me via e-mail or by phone at YOUR NUMBER.

Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,

Your Name

