Africa Without Tears

School at City College began for me on Thursday August 31. But I missed my first two classes, Reporting & Writing and Introduction to Journalism. I was in Ethiopia on a media study trip to look at maternal health in this beautiful, but desperately poor country. As in many developing countries, too many women die having children. On assignment for Ms. Magazine, I am writing an article about an army of 30,000 rural women, trained as health care workers, who are teaching women in villages no bigger than a fingersnap how to take care of themselves and have healthy babies.

That article will appear in the magazine’s print edition–in Winter 2011. Meantime, read my article about a community garden in an area several outside of Ethiopia’s capital city. It’s run by vulnerable children and orphans who lost their parents to AIDS.

